Rage and Depression from Conception

Dear young woman,

As I look at the rate of abortions I know I’m not the only one, so here goes. 

I’ll never forget my first sex talk with my mom. The bad part about it, I was already six weeks pregnant. I guess it was a little too late. That’s ok, God makes no mistakes!

I asked myself is it better to abort life than to allow a life to enter a life of misery and doubt from day one? I know God is able and can do anything, but I’m lying if I didn’t wonder about abortion. Adoption is an option, but living knowing you have a child somewhere, is that any better? 

I chose abortion as my option. During the ultrasound, the technician asked if I wanted to look. Why did I say yes? I’ll never forget seeing the shape and heartbeat of a twelve week fetus on the ultrasound screen. 

They drugged me up to make the process easier for my pain and memory, but I’ll never forget laying on that cold table with my feet in stirrups at the age of thirteen taking away an unborn life because I was too immature, young and unfit to raise a child. 

I don’t bring in detail to create shame. I bring in detail to take me to the moment that held me in bondage for longer than I knew. I bring in detail to free myself from the feelings that stir up at the thought. I take myself to memories of that little girl so that I can forgive her. God forgave me, but I didn’t forgive myself. 

Maybe you’re experiencing or have experienced something similar. I don’t shout for abortion, but I understand why some women take the route. If you are this young woman God still loves you and He is not mad at you nor does He hold you accountable to it. However, He does want you to invite Him into the shame and guilt that so often accompany this procedure.

I pray you do yourself a favor and forgive yourself! I pray you do yourself a favor and let go so you can walk in your freedom Jesus died to give you. 

Stop thinking about what could have been or what should be because if it was meant to be it would be. We have all made choices that aren’t the best, and that is ok. Learn from them and keep moving forward. 

God’s grace and love is sufficient enough to cover all of our sins. Rest in His grace. 

I wanted to let you know you are not alone. I wanted to make sure that you know you don’t have to suffer from guilt or shame because of an abortion(s). If you haven’t already, ask God for His forgiveness and make sure to take time to receive His forgiveness. 

In case you ask, how do I do that? I will be more than happy to tell you. Get in a quiet place and cry out to Him. Tell Him how you feel not leaving out any nitty gritty detail. You have to remember He already knows and is NOT surprised by anything you feel, do or have done. Ask Him to forgive you. Then sit still and quiet and allow Him to wrap His arms around you. Ask Him to show you how to forgive yourself. Get in the mirror, do it and walk in freedom knowing your wrong doings have been washed away and God is a forgiving and very loving God. 

As we journey there are many barriers that try to stop us from being great. However, we have the ability to choose what stops us and what doesn’t. Knock down those barriers one by one. Choose victory and walk in your authority.  

Meditate on one of my favorite verses:

Psalm 103:10-12, He has not dealt with us according to our sins, nor punished us according to our iniquities. For as the heavens are high above the earth, so great is His mercy toward those who fear Him; as far as the east is from the west, so far has He removed our transgressions from us.

Until next time..

Leave a comment