Let’s Be Honest

I’m so glad you’re journeying with me. The thought of sharing my ugly truths was great until God began directing me to share certain ones. I can’t let the enemy keep me from moving forward because I know many lives will be changed by my obedience, so here goes.

So much of my journey revolves around being a teen parent. I learned so much by raising a daughter during the most critical years of my development. It is really hard to teach your child something you haven’t learned yourself. 

I have three children, but my later two had a saved mom from birth so their journey has been very different than my oldest. My children are a true testimony of the difference in parenting once you’re in relationship with Jesus. 

I got saved when my daughter was four. Thank God for that because she was at an age where she probably won’t remember what I showed her before I knew better. Whether I realized it or not I was shaping her with my reckless behavior. 

As parents we are so influential in our children’s life. They are watching us every step of the way listening to every word we allow them to hear. Our actions and words or lack of are shaping who they are becoming. 

Once I got saved I made many changes in our household. It was very tough for her. Her mom went from carefree and reckless to structured with rules. She began to adjust and with time God did a new thing in both of us. He is still remolding us every day and I look forward to our journey. 

Although I thought I was doing it all right and keeping her from negative influences I found a SnapChat account of hers that showed me I was completely in the blind and unaware of so much. I found this at the time I thought I’d launch this blog. I’m sure it was God’s way of teaching me I can’t help the world without first helping myself and my daughter.

I wanted to punish her when I saw the videos. Instead God led me to the mirror and made me realize she was only being a reflection of me. After all my tears and rage outbursts I realized that I was doing great on the discipline and structure, but I was forgetting to gain a mental connection with her, and although I was extremely different than the old Gloria I was still not a healthy example for her. 

I thought I had lost her with no hope in site, but God! I prayed and God showed me how to take control and reverse the generational curse. I realized so many deep roots in the way of a healthy relationship with her, but we will explore those in detail as I continue the journey. We are pulling those roots one by one and I’m so thankful for the awareness and ability to admit my faults. 

As I began to nurture her mind and our connection I realized she was not feeling loved at home. Therefore, she was seeking love and attention from the world. The vicious cycle almost continued, but God. He came and shifted everything. 

I can only cry at the thought of all God has done in her and our relationship. By nurturing our relationship she is flourishing and no longer being afraid to be who she knows God called her to be. 

I’m writing this because I know there are so many of us young moms out there trying to raise kids while we are growing up ourselves. It is not an easy task, but with God all things are possible. 

I pray you begin to pay attention to the influence you are being to your child. If you realize it is not healthy I pray you ask God to show you how to take control of the situation and make a difference. 

Our children are the future and it is very important we raise them with God as the center of everything. Seeing my children know and love God is the greatest blessing of all time. 

This transformation has not been easy and some days I completely fail. I thank God I recognize when I fail. He forgives me and my children accept my apology when I mess up. They are always willing to try again with me. 

If you’re child is acting out look inward, and seek out what changes are needed.

Until next time…

Leave a comment